Coverart for item
The Resource Friday black, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Friday black, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Label
Friday black
Title
Friday black
Statement of responsibility
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope
Member of
Summary
A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it’s like to be young and black in America
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Library Journal Best Books, 2018.
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2018
  • ALA Notable Book, 2019.
  • Booklist Editors' Choice, 2018.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10736782
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print Bill's bookshelf
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Racism
  • African Americans
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
stories
Label
Friday black, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Light spitter
  • How to sell a jacket as told by IceKing
  • In retail
  • Through the flash
  • The Finkelstein 5
  • Things my mother said
  • The era
  • Lark Street
  • The hospital where
  • Zimmer Land
  • Friday black
  • The lion & the spider
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
297 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432862336
Isbn Type
(hbk. : lg. print)
Lccn
2018051542
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1077481870
Label
Friday black, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Light spitter
  • How to sell a jacket as told by IceKing
  • In retail
  • Through the flash
  • The Finkelstein 5
  • Things my mother said
  • The era
  • Lark Street
  • The hospital where
  • Zimmer Land
  • Friday black
  • The lion & the spider
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
297 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432862336
Isbn Type
(hbk. : lg. print)
Lccn
2018051542
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1077481870

Library Locations

    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Eden Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
      5131 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.464302 -91.138325
    • Scotlandville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      7373 Scenic Hwy., Baton Rouge, LA, 70807, US
      30.515300 -91.176032
Processing Feedback ...