Coverart for item
The Resource Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Gr©ındahl ; translated by the author

Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Gr©ındahl ; translated by the author

Label
Often I am happy : a novel
Title
Often I am happy
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Jens Christian Gr©ındahl ; translated by the author
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • dan
  • eng
Summary
"This elegant and nuanced literary gem explores the intricacies of friendship, secrets, and two marriages, for fans of The Dinner and Dept. of Speculation.</strong> </br></br> "Often I am happy and yet I want to cry; / For no heart fully shares my joy." -B.S. Ingemann Ellinor is seventy. Her husband Georg has just passed away, and she is struck with the need to confide in someone. She addresses Anna, her long-dead best friend, who was also Georg's first wife. Fully aware of the absurdity of speaking to someone who cannot hear her, Ellinor nevertheless finds it meaningful to divulge long-held secrets and burdens of her past: her mother's heartbreaking pride; Ellinor's courtship with her first husband; their seemingly charmed friendship with Anna and Georg; the disastrous ski trip that shattered the two couples' lives. Wry and mellow yet infused with subdued emotion, this philosophical, lyrical novel moves in parallel narrative threads while questioning the assumptions we cherish concerning identity and love"--
Member of
Summary
When her husband, Georg, passes away, 70-year-old Ellinor, in desperate need to confide in someone, starts addressing her long-dead best friend, Anna, who was also Georg’s first wife, and finds it meaningful to finally divulge long-held secrets and burdens of her past
Theme
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10562450
Cataloging source
FMG
Dewey number
839.8/1374
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Gr©ındahl ; translated by the author
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
169 pages
Isbn
9781455570072
Isbn Type
(hb)
Lccn
2016056384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)979414590
Label
Often I am happy : a novel, Jens Christian Gr©ındahl ; translated by the author
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
169 pages
Isbn
9781455570072
Isbn Type
(hb)
Lccn
2016056384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)979414590

Library Locations

    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Central Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11260 Joor Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70818, US
      30.550630 -91.051706
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Jones Creek Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      6222 Jones Creek Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70817, US
      30.396369 -91.018216
Processing Feedback ...