The Resource Protected, Claire Zorn

Protected, Claire Zorn

Label
Protected
Title
Protected
Statement of responsibility
Claire Zorn
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
An inspiring and achingly honest story of a girl with the courage to endure, hope, and even heal in the face of unimaginable tragedy, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen's Just Listen. I have three months left to call Katie my older sister. Then the gap will close and I will pass her. I will get older. But Katie will always be fifteen, eleven months and twenty-one days old. Hannah has survived high school by putting up walls. At first, they were meant to protect her from the relentless bullying that no one would defend her from, not even her popular older sister, Katie. Then Katie died, and, in a cruel twist of fate, Hannah's daily torment abruptly stopped. Now the walls try to shut it all out-the grief, the loneliness, and the harsh truth that Katie's death has somehow improved Hannah's life. Then something happens that Hannah couldn't have predicted-friendship comes knocking in the form of new student Josh Chamberlain. Hannah has never been so desperate for connection. But if this isn't for real, if it's just another joke, Hannah's not sure she can take it
Summary
Nearly a year after her popular older sister's accidental death, Hannah meets Anne, a guidance counselor, and Josh, a potential new friend, who offer her the chance to move forward
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Award
  • Children's Book of the Year Award for Older Readers (Children's Book Council of Australia), 2015.
  • Children's Book Council of Australia: Notable Australian Children's Book
  • Prime Minister's Literary Awards: Young Adult Fiction, 2015.
  • Victorian Premier's Literary Awards, Prize for Young Adult Fiction, 2015.
  • Western Australian Premier's Book Awards, Young Adult category, 2016
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10322175
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Zorn, Claire
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
600
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Death
  • Grief
  • Bullying
  • Friendship
  • Australia
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Protected, Claire Zorn
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published as The Protected, Australia : University of Queensland Press, 2014
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
276 pages
Isbn
9781492652137
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2016050932
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)973918649
Label
Protected, Claire Zorn
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published as The Protected, Australia : University of Queensland Press, 2014
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
276 pages
Isbn
9781492652137
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2016050932
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)973918649

Library Locations

    • Baker Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3501 Groom Rd., Baker, LA, 70714, US
      30.587903 -91.163712
    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Central Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11260 Joor Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70818, US
      30.550630 -91.051706
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Zachary Branch LibraryBorrow it
      12910 Old Hammond Hwy, Baton Rouge, LA, 70816, US
      30.444229 -91.034928
    • Jones Creek Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      6222 Jones Creek Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70817, US
      30.396369 -91.018216
Processing Feedback ...