Coverart for item
The Resource Stiltsville : a novel, Susanna Daniel

Stiltsville : a novel, Susanna Daniel

Label
Stiltsville : a novel
Title
Stiltsville
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Susanna Daniel
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Miami,1969. Frances is captivated by the community of houses built on pilings in the middle of Biscayne Bay. On the dock of one stilt house, she meets Dennis, and turns away from her predictable life. Stiltsville becomes their island oasis-- until suddenly it's gone, and Francis is forced to figure out how to make her family work on dry land
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Frances Ellerby travels from Georgia to Miami for a wedding and meets the two people who will change her life. One is the glamorous, sexy Marse, a native of Miami, who introduces her to the two great loves of her life: her husband, Dennis, and the sun-drenched landscape of Biscayne Bay. The author’s organization of the story into seven sections, each of which recounts a seminal year in Miami history and Frances’ life, is a surprisingly successful technique for creating suspense in a book characterized by lushly descriptive and complex writing. The first-person narration provides a vivid look at the characters important to Frances as she becomes a deeply involved wife, mother, and friend. Perhaps the most important character in the story is the city of Miami, which always looms large in Frances’ consciousness until the bittersweet ending of her story—an ending that could have been melodramatic and maudlin but is written with great delicacy and discretion. This promising first novel will appeal to readers of family stories, literary fiction, and southern writing. -- Loughran, Ellen (Reviewed 07-01-2010) (Booklist, vol 106, number 21, p33)
  • With its lush flora and constant sun, South Florida is the true star of Daniel's exquisite debut, which follows a marriage over the course of 30 years. In 1969, having traveled from Atlanta to Miami for a college friend's wedding, 26-year-old Frances Ellerby meets glamorous Miami native Marse Heiger, who introduces her to Dennis DuVals and his house on stilts in Biscayne Bay. Though Marse has set her cap for Dennis, he and Frances fall in love and marry within a year. "I had no idea then," Frances says, "what would happen to my love, what nourishment it would receive, how mighty it would grow." Dennis and Frances have a daughter, Margo, buy a house in Coral Gables, and their life together proceeds as a series of ups and downs, beautifully told from Frances's pensive, sharp perspective. As the years pass and Miami changes, so do Frances, Dennis, and Margo, and the nuances of their relationships shift and realign, drawing inexorably toward a moving resolution. (Aug.) --Staff (Reviewed June 14, 2010) (Publishers Weekly, vol 257, issue 23, p)
  • In summer 1969, Atlanta native Frances Ellerby goes to Miami for a wedding and meets not only Dennis DuVal, the man she will marry, but also Marse, a woman who becomes her best friend. The DuVal family owns a beach house on stilts in Biscayne Bay, where Dennis and Frances will spend many of the happiest years of their marriage. Their daughter, Margo, is born, then Frances has several miscarriages. Dennis is a lawyer but grows dissatisfied with his job. The family seems happiest on the water, boating and fishing. Frances never gets over her amazement that her life flourishes in gaudy, exotic Miami. Sometimes she feels she drifted into her marriage, but as the years go by, her deep commitment to family and friends, often tested, is portrayed with emotional depth. She changes before our eyes from a guileless girl to a woman of wisdom. VERDICT This decadeslong story of a marriage will appeal to fans of Barbara Bradford, Jodi Picoult, and Sue Miller, as well as readers who enjoy first novels.—Keddy Ann Outlaw, formerly with Harris Cty. P.L., Houston, TX --Keddy Ann Outlaw (Reviewed May 1, 2010) (Library Journal, vol 135, issue 8, p64)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
358139
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Daniel, Susanna
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Marriage
  • Miami (Fla.)
  • Biscayne Bay (Fla.)
Label
Stiltsville : a novel, Susanna Daniel
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9780061963070
Isbn Type
(hd.cov.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
ROMANCE
System control number
  • (OCoLC)456180735
  • ocn456180735
  • OCoLC
Label
Stiltsville : a novel, Susanna Daniel
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9780061963070
Isbn Type
(hd.cov.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
ROMANCE
System control number
  • (OCoLC)456180735
  • ocn456180735
  • OCoLC

Library Locations

    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
Processing Feedback ...