The Resource The Woman Before Wallis, Bryn Turnbull

The Woman Before Wallis, Bryn Turnbull

Label
The Woman Before Wallis
Title
The Woman Before Wallis
Statement of responsibility
Bryn Turnbull
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Brimming with scandal and an equal amount of heart...a sweeping yet intimate look at the lives of some of history's most notorious figures from Vanderbilts to the Prince of Wales... A must-read." ?Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of When We Left Cuba and Next Year in Havana "Bryn Turnbull takes a story we think we know and turns it on its head, with captivating results... A beautifully written, meticulously researched and altogether memorable debut." ?Jennifer Robson, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Gown For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown , this stunning novel tells the true story of the American divorc?e who captured Prince Edward's heart before he abdicated his throne for Wallis Simpson. In the summer of 1926, when Thelma Morgan marries Viscount Duke Furness after a whirlwind romance, she's immersed in a gilded world of extraordinary wealth and privilege. For Thelma, the daughter of an American diplomat, her new life as a member of the British aristocracy is like a fairy tale?even more so when her husband introduces her to Edward, Prince of Wales. In a twist of fate, her marriage to Duke leads her to fall headlong into a love affair with Edward. But happiness is fleeting, and their love is threatened when Thelma's sister, Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt, becomes embroiled in a scandal with far-reaching implications. As Thelma sails to New York to support Gloria, she leaves Edward in the hands of her trusted friend Wallis, never imagining the consequences that will follow. Bryn Turnbull takes readers from the raucous glamour of the Paris Ritz and the French Riviera to the quiet, private corners of St. James's Palace in this sweeping story of love, loyalty and betrayal
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Turnbull, Bryn
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3620.U76
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Furness, Thelma
  • Windsor, Edward
  • Vanderbilt, Gloria Morgan
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Twin sisters
  • Aristocracy (Social class)
  • Americans
  • Adultery
  • Betrayal
  • Great Britain
Label
The Woman Before Wallis, Bryn Turnbull
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Electronic resource
  • OverDrive eBook
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781488058929
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
9004F9DD-D3D8-4CA7-BB2F-F1A27567558C
System control number
(OCoLC)1159830669
Label
The Woman Before Wallis, Bryn Turnbull
Link
Publication
Note
  • Electronic resource
  • OverDrive eBook
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781488058929
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
9004F9DD-D3D8-4CA7-BB2F-F1A27567558C
System control number
(OCoLC)1159830669

Library Locations

    • Baker Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3501 Groom Rd., Baker, LA, 70714, US
      30.587903 -91.163712
    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Carver Branch LibraryBorrow it
      720 Terrace St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.436230 -91.183159
    • Central Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11260 Joor Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70818, US
      30.550630 -91.051706
    • Delmont Gardens Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3351 Lorraine St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70805, US
      30.496721 -91.156970
    • EBRPL - Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Eden Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
      5131 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.464302 -91.138325
    • Greenwell Springs Road Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11300 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70814, US
      30.493828 -91.057497
    • Jones Creek Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      6222 Jones Creek Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70817, US
      30.396369 -91.018216
    • Pride-Chaneyville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      13600 Pride-Port Hudson Rd., Pride, LA, 70770, US
      30.708823 -91.006528
    • River Center Branch LibraryBorrow it
      120 St. Louis St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.446665 -91.187910
    • Scotlandville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      7373 Scenic Hwy., Baton Rouge, LA, 70807, US
      30.515300 -91.176032
    • Zachary Branch LibraryBorrow it
      1900 Church St., Zachary, LA, 70791, US
      30.653561 -91.184684
Processing Feedback ...