The Resource The only girl in the world : a memoir, Maude Julien with Ursula Gauthier ; translated from the French by Adriana Hunter

The only girl in the world : a memoir, Maude Julien with Ursula Gauthier ; translated from the French by Adriana Hunter

Label
The only girl in the world : a memoir
Title
The only girl in the world
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Maude Julien with Ursula Gauthier ; translated from the French by Adriana Hunter
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor - raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment.But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity. By turns horrifying and magical, The Only Girl in the World is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape
Member of
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1957-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Julien, Maude
Dewey number
362.76092
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
memoirs
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Elisabeth Rodgers
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Gauthier, Ursula
  • Hunter, Adriana
  • Rodgers, Elisabeth S.
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Julien, Maude
  • Abused children
  • Psychologically abused children
  • Adult child abuse victims' writings
  • Psychological torture
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The only girl in the world : a memoir, Maude Julien with Ursula Gauthier ; translated from the French by Adriana Hunter
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
OverDrive Audiobook
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (7 hr., 42 min., 32 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781549114106
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
D7B17601-E361-494A-8C80-B735C8749AEB
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1015336415
  • on1015336415
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The only girl in the world : a memoir, Maude Julien with Ursula Gauthier ; translated from the French by Adriana Hunter
Link
Publication
Note
OverDrive Audiobook
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (7 hr., 42 min., 32 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781549114106
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
D7B17601-E361-494A-8C80-B735C8749AEB
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1015336415
  • on1015336415
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Baker Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3501 Groom Rd., Baker, LA, 70714, US
      30.587903 -91.163712
    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Carver Branch LibraryBorrow it
      720 Terrace St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.436230 -91.183159
    • Central Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11260 Joor Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70818, US
      30.550630 -91.051706
    • Delmont Gardens Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3351 Lorraine St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70805, US
      30.496721 -91.156970
    • EBRPL - Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Eden Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
      5131 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.464302 -91.138325
    • Greenwell Springs Road Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11300 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70814, US
      30.493828 -91.057497
    • Jones Creek Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      6222 Jones Creek Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70817, US
      30.396369 -91.018216
    • Pride-Chaneyville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      13600 Pride-Port Hudson Rd., Pride, LA, 70770, US
      30.708823 -91.006528
    • River Center Branch LibraryBorrow it
      120 St. Louis St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.446665 -91.187910
    • Scotlandville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      7373 Scenic Hwy., Baton Rouge, LA, 70807, US
      30.515300 -91.176032
    • Zachary Branch LibraryBorrow it
      1900 Church St., Zachary, LA, 70791, US
      30.653561 -91.184684
Processing Feedback ...