The Resource The truth according to us : a novel, Annie Barrows

The truth according to us : a novel, Annie Barrows

Label
The truth according to us : a novel
Title
The truth according to us
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Annie Barrows
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what's right. Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever. In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck's father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers' Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her own opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. However, once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is completely drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is deeply entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty. At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues--ferocity and devotion--a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business with which her charismatic father is always occupied and the reason her adored aunt Jottie never married. Layla's arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a different tale about the Romeyns, and the invisible threads linking them to the heart of Macedonia's history. As Willa peels back the layers of her family's past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed--and their personal histories completely rewritten. Praise for The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society "A jewel. poignant and keenly observed. a small masterpiece about love, war, and the immeasurable sustenance to be found in good books and good friends."--People "Affirms the power of books to nourish people enduring hard times."--The Washington Post "This is a book for firesides or long train rides. It's as charming and timeless as the novels for which its characters profess their love."--San Francisco Chronicle "A book-lover's delight, an implicit and sometimes explicit paean to all things literary."--Chicago Sun-Times "A poignant, funny novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit. This one is a treat."--The Boston Globe "Smart and delightful. Treat yourself to this book, please--I can't recommend it highly enough."--Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love and The Signature of All Things"--
  • "Miss Layla Beck, the daughter of a powerful Senator from Delaware refuses to marry the gentleman her father has chosen for her and is forced to get a job working for the FWP to write the first official account of Maecdonian History. Her notions of real life--the social whirl of Newport and New York--are totally upended and she despairs in rooming with the overly eccentric Romeyn family in such a small backwater town. The Romeyn family is a fixture in the town, their identity tied to its knotty history. Layla enters their lives and lights a match to the family veneer and a truth comes to light that will change each of their lives forever in deeply personal and powerful ways. As Layla embarks on this grand adventure to establish historical moments in print, her first friend, the town librarian Ms. Betts wisely cautions: "There is a problem with history. All of us see a story according to our own lights. None of us is capable of objectivity." Set against the backdrop of the Great Depression and told through the incredible voices of three narrators you quickly come to love--Layla Beck, Jottie Romeyn, and her niece, twelve year old Willa--this is an intimate family novel of love and family, of history and truth, and of struggle and hope, filled with the kind of characters once you discover, you'll never forget"--
Summary
"Miss Layla Beck, the daughter of a powerful Senator from Delaware refuses to marry the gentleman her father has chosen for her and is forced to get a job working for the FWP to write the first official account of Maecdonian History. Her notions of real life--the social whirl of Newport and New York--are totally upended and she despairs in rooming with the overly eccentric Romeyn family in such a small backwater town. The Romeyn family is a fixture in the town, their identity tied to its knotty history. Layla enters their lives and lights a match to the family veneer and a truth comes to light that will change each of their lives forever in deeply personal and powerful ways. As Layla embarks on this grand adventure to establish historical moments in print, her first friend, the town librarian Ms. Betts wisely cautions: "There is a problem with history. All of us see a story according to our own lights. None of us is capable of objectivity." Set against the backdrop of the Great Depression and told through the incredible voices of three narrators you quickly come to love--Layla Beck, Jottie Romeyn, and her niece, twelve year old Willa--this is an intimate family novel of love and family, of history and truth, and of struggle and hope, filled with the kindof characters once you discover, you'll never forget"--
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2015
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10401467
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Barrows, Annie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3602.A8373
LC item number
T78 2015eb
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Historians
  • Depressions
  • West Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • FICTION / Sagas
  • Historians
  • Family secrets
  • West Virginia
Target audience
adult
Label
The truth according to us : a novel, Annie Barrows
Link
http://overdrive.ebrpl.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=A40A4956-641F-48C5-BC95-A019DBFF7E36
Instantiates
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource (pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780812997842
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
A40A4956-641F-48C5-BC95-A019DBFF7E36
System control number
(OCoLC)906031049
Label
The truth according to us : a novel, Annie Barrows
Link
http://overdrive.ebrpl.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=A40A4956-641F-48C5-BC95-A019DBFF7E36
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource (pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780812997842
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
A40A4956-641F-48C5-BC95-A019DBFF7E36
System control number
(OCoLC)906031049

Library Locations

    • Baker Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3501 Groom Rd., Baker, LA, 70714, US
      30.587903 -91.163712
    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Carver Branch LibraryBorrow it
      720 Terrace St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.436230 -91.183159
    • Central Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11260 Joor Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70818, US
      30.550630 -91.051706
    • Delmont Gardens Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3351 Lorraine St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70805, US
      30.496721 -91.156970
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Eden Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
      5131 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.464302 -91.138325
    • Greenwell Springs Road Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11300 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70814, US
      30.493828 -91.057497
    • Jones Creek Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      6222 Jones Creek Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70817, US
      30.396369 -91.018216
    • Pride-Chaneyville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      13600 Pride-Port Hudson Rd., Pride, LA, 70770, US
      30.708823 -91.006528
    • River Center Branch LibraryBorrow it
      120 St. Louis St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.446665 -91.187910
    • Scotlandville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      7373 Scenic Hwy., Baton Rouge, LA, 70807, US
      30.515300 -91.176032
    • Zachary Branch LibraryBorrow it
      1900 Church St., Zachary, LA, 70791, US
      30.653561 -91.184684
Processing Feedback ...