Coverart for item
The Resource The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

Label
The weight of ink
Title
The weight of ink
Statement of responsibility
Rachel Kadish
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Summary
Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is a historical fiction about two women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order reconcile the life of the heart and mind
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10565926
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Front Cover; Front Flap; Front Matter; Half Title; Other Books by this Author; Title; Copyright; Dedication; Epigraph; Foreword; Part 1; 1.; 2.; 3.; 4.; 5.; 6.; 7.; 8.; 9.; Part 2; 10.; 11.; 12.; 13.; Part 3; 14.; 15.; 16.; 17.; 18.; 19.; 20.; 21.; Part 4; 22.; 23.; 24.; 25.; 26.; Part 5; 27.; 28.; 29.; 30.; 31.; 32.; 33.; 34.; Back Matter; Author's Note; Acknowledgments; Back Flap; Back Cover; Spine
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780544866676
Lccn
2017010659
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
5BAB77FA-4E69-4DB7-8196-C63995D3845B
System control number
(OCoLC)974796417
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Link
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Front Cover; Front Flap; Front Matter; Half Title; Other Books by this Author; Title; Copyright; Dedication; Epigraph; Foreword; Part 1; 1.; 2.; 3.; 4.; 5.; 6.; 7.; 8.; 9.; Part 2; 10.; 11.; 12.; 13.; Part 3; 14.; 15.; 16.; 17.; 18.; 19.; 20.; 21.; Part 4; 22.; 23.; 24.; 25.; 26.; Part 5; 27.; 28.; 29.; 30.; 31.; 32.; 33.; 34.; Back Matter; Author's Note; Acknowledgments; Back Flap; Back Cover; Spine
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780544866676
Lccn
2017010659
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
5BAB77FA-4E69-4DB7-8196-C63995D3845B
System control number
(OCoLC)974796417
Processing Feedback ...