Coverart for item
The Resource The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish

The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish

Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Title
The world's fastest man
Title remainder
the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Statement of responsibility
Michael Kranish
Title variation
worlds fastest man
Title variation remainder
the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, Americas first Black sports hero
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era. In the 1890s, the nation's promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation's most popular and mostly white man's sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world's fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn--especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World's Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor's life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World's Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history--the gateway to the twentieth century"--provided by publisher
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
individual biography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10776011
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kranish, Michael
Dewey number
  • 796.6/2092
  • B 2 23
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Taylor, Major
  • Cyclists
  • African American cyclists
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliography (pages 343-349) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Scribner hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 365 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781501192593
Isbn Type
(hb)
Lccn
2019006827
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, portraits
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1088602185
  • on1088602185
  • OCoLC
Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliography (pages 343-349) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Scribner hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 365 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781501192593
Isbn Type
(hb)
Lccn
2019006827
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, portraits
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1088602185
  • on1088602185
  • OCoLC

Library Locations

    • Carver Branch LibraryBorrow it
      720 Terrace St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.436230 -91.183159
    • EBRPL - Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Eden Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
      5131 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.464302 -91.138325
    • Scotlandville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      7373 Scenic Hwy., Baton Rouge, LA, 70807, US
      30.515300 -91.176032
Processing Feedback ...