The Resource The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish

The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish

Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Title
The world's fastest man
Title remainder
the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Statement of responsibility
Michael Kranish
Title variation
worlds fastest man
Title variation remainder
the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, Americas first Black sports hero
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era. In the 1890s, the nation's promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation's most popular and mostly white man's sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world's fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn--especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World's Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor's life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World's Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history--the gateway to the twentieth century"--provided by publisher
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
individual biography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10776011
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kranish, Michael
Dewey number
  • 796.6/2092
  • B 2 23
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Taylor, Major
  • Cyclists
  • African American cyclists
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteId=246&titleId=4501230
Instantiates
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Intro; Dedication; Prologue: Madison Square Garden, 1896; Part One: Acceleration; Chapter 1: Birdie Takes Flight; Chapter 2: The Rise of Major Taylor; Chapter 3: The President and the Cyclists; Chapter 4: Birdie and Major in Indianapolis; Chapter 5: No Such Prejudice; Chapter 6: The Bicycle Craze; Part Two: The Jump; Chapter 7: The Rivalry Begins; Chapter 8: "Major Taylor's Life in Danger"; Chapter 9: The Fighting Man; Chapter 10: A Rematch with Eddie Bald; Chapter 11: In Pursuit of the Championship; Chapter 12: "A Race Run for Blood"; Chapter 13: A Black Man in Paris
  • Chapter 14: "The Terribly Dangerous and Beautiful Races"Chapter 15: Voyage of the Titans; Chapter 16: The Caged Bird Sings; Chapter 17: "The Strain Is Too Great"; Chapter 18: A Faraway Land; Chapter 19: The Changing World; Part Three: The Finish; Chapter 20: "I Need Your Prayers"; Chapter 21: "My Last Race"; Appendix 1: Major Taylor's Cycling Records; Appendix 2: Major Taylor's Training Regimen; Photographs; Acknowledgments; About the Author; Notes; Bibliography; Index; Image Credits; Copyright
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (294 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501192616
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
4DCCFB73-4A12-4770-A9DE-B8623209D3ED
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1096532396
  • on1096532396
Label
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero, Michael Kranish
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteId=246&titleId=4501230
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Intro; Dedication; Prologue: Madison Square Garden, 1896; Part One: Acceleration; Chapter 1: Birdie Takes Flight; Chapter 2: The Rise of Major Taylor; Chapter 3: The President and the Cyclists; Chapter 4: Birdie and Major in Indianapolis; Chapter 5: No Such Prejudice; Chapter 6: The Bicycle Craze; Part Two: The Jump; Chapter 7: The Rivalry Begins; Chapter 8: "Major Taylor's Life in Danger"; Chapter 9: The Fighting Man; Chapter 10: A Rematch with Eddie Bald; Chapter 11: In Pursuit of the Championship; Chapter 12: "A Race Run for Blood"; Chapter 13: A Black Man in Paris
  • Chapter 14: "The Terribly Dangerous and Beautiful Races"Chapter 15: Voyage of the Titans; Chapter 16: The Caged Bird Sings; Chapter 17: "The Strain Is Too Great"; Chapter 18: A Faraway Land; Chapter 19: The Changing World; Part Three: The Finish; Chapter 20: "I Need Your Prayers"; Chapter 21: "My Last Race"; Appendix 1: Major Taylor's Cycling Records; Appendix 2: Major Taylor's Training Regimen; Photographs; Acknowledgments; About the Author; Notes; Bibliography; Index; Image Credits; Copyright
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (294 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501192616
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
4DCCFB73-4A12-4770-A9DE-B8623209D3ED
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1096532396
  • on1096532396

Library Locations

    • Baker Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3501 Groom Rd., Baker, LA, 70714, US
      30.587903 -91.163712
    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Carver Branch LibraryBorrow it
      720 Terrace St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.436230 -91.183159
    • Central Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11260 Joor Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70818, US
      30.550630 -91.051706
    • Delmont Gardens Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3351 Lorraine St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70805, US
      30.496721 -91.156970
    • EBRPL - Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Eden Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
      5131 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.464302 -91.138325
    • Greenwell Springs Road Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11300 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70814, US
      30.493828 -91.057497
    • Jones Creek Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      6222 Jones Creek Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70817, US
      30.396369 -91.018216
    • Pride-Chaneyville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      13600 Pride-Port Hudson Rd., Pride, LA, 70770, US
      30.708823 -91.006528
    • River Center Branch LibraryBorrow it
      120 St. Louis St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.446665 -91.187910
    • Scotlandville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      7373 Scenic Hwy., Baton Rouge, LA, 70807, US
      30.515300 -91.176032
    • Zachary Branch LibraryBorrow it
      1900 Church St., Zachary, LA, 70791, US
      30.653561 -91.184684
Processing Feedback ...