The Resource Watching you : a novel, Lisa Jewell

Watching you : a novel, Lisa Jewell

Label
Watching you : a novel
Title
Watching you
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Jewell
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author and "brilliant storyteller" (Shelf Awareness, starred review) Lisa Jewell weaves another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It's the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It's not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back thirty times with a kitchen knife in their own homes. Someone must have seen something. Newlywed Joey Mullen, for example, recently returned from four years working in Ibiza. She and her husband Alfie are eager to find a place of their own in her hometown. But Joey finds herself distracted by the man next door, Tom Fitzwilliam. He's the principal of the local high school, twice her age, and devastatingly attractive. What starts as an innocent infatuation soon escalates into fixation, and before long, Joey can't keep her eyes off of Tom. Or the principal's son, Freddie, who dreams of working as a spy, and has been developing his surveillance skills by keeping meticulous logs of the coming and goings in the area. And, as he approaches his fifteenth birthday, his attention--and his lens--are turning more and more towards the local women. Or perhaps single mother Frances Tripp, who has long been convinced she is being stalked. Her teenage daughter Jenna is worried these delusions are signs of her mother's deteriorating mental health, particularly now that her paranoia has found a specific target: Tom Fitzwilliam. Frances is determined to keep an eye on him until she can prove that he is behind her persecution. Twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam. Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community's fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains: Who else is watching?"--
  • "Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It's the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It's not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back thirty times with a kitchen knife in their own homes. Someone must have seen something. Newlywed Joey Mullen, for example, recently returned from four years working in Ibiza. She and her husband Alfie are eager to find a place of their own in her hometown. But Joey finds herself distracted by the man next door, Tom Fitzwilliam. He's the principal of the local high school, twice her age, and devastatingly attractive. What starts as an innocent infatuation soon escalates into fixation, and before long, Joey can't keep her eyes off of Tom. Or the principal's son, Freddie, who dreams of working as a spy, and has been developing his surveillance skills by keeping meticulous logs of the coming and goings in the area. And, as he approaches his fifteenth birthday, his attention--and his lens--are turning more and more towards the local women. Or perhaps single mother Frances Tripp, who has long been convinced she is being stalked. Her teenage daughter Jenna is worried these delusions are signs of her mother's deteriorating mental health, particularly now that her paranoia has found a specific target: Tom Fitzwilliam. Frances is determined to keep an eye on him until she can prove that he is behind her persecution. Twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam. Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community's fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains: Who else is watching?"--
Summary
When a murder occurs in Melville Heights, one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England, dangerous obsessions come to light involving the headmaster at a local school, in this place where everyone has a secret
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2019.
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10745346
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Jewell, Lisa
Dewey number
823/.914
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6060.E95
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Murder
  • Bristol (England)
Target audience
adult
Label
Watching you : a novel, Lisa Jewell
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=246&titleID=4239457
Instantiates
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501190094
Lccn
2018025769
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
5C6FAD8D-E7A6-4F96-9BA9-7BD64D8EB936
System control number
(OCoLC)1038035812
Label
Watching you : a novel, Lisa Jewell
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=246&titleID=4239457
Publication
Note
OverDrive eBook
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781501190094
Lccn
2018025769
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
5C6FAD8D-E7A6-4F96-9BA9-7BD64D8EB936
System control number
(OCoLC)1038035812

Library Locations

    • Baker Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3501 Groom Rd., Baker, LA, 70714, US
      30.587903 -91.163712
    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
    • Carver Branch LibraryBorrow it
      720 Terrace St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.436230 -91.183159
    • Central Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11260 Joor Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70818, US
      30.550630 -91.051706
    • Delmont Gardens Branch LibraryBorrow it
      3351 Lorraine St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70805, US
      30.496721 -91.156970
    • Main LibraryBorrow it
      7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.443886 -91.107152
    • Eden Park Branch LibraryBorrow it
      5131 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70806, US
      30.464302 -91.138325
    • Greenwell Springs Road Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      11300 Greenwell Springs Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70814, US
      30.493828 -91.057497
    • Jones Creek Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      6222 Jones Creek Rd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70817, US
      30.396369 -91.018216
    • Pride-Chaneyville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      13600 Pride-Port Hudson Rd., Pride, LA, 70770, US
      30.708823 -91.006528
    • River Center Branch LibraryBorrow it
      120 St. Louis St., Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, US
      30.446665 -91.187910
    • Scotlandville Branch LibraryBorrow it
      7373 Scenic Hwy., Baton Rouge, LA, 70807, US
      30.515300 -91.176032
    • Zachary Branch LibraryBorrow it
      1900 Church St., Zachary, LA, 70791, US
      30.653561 -91.184684
Processing Feedback ...