Coverart for item
The Resource White feminism : from the suffragettes to influencers and who they leave behind, Koa Beck

White feminism : from the suffragettes to influencers and who they leave behind, Koa Beck

Label
White feminism : from the suffragettes to influencers and who they leave behind
Title
White feminism
Title remainder
from the suffragettes to influencers and who they leave behind
Statement of responsibility
Koa Beck
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "A timely and impassioned exploration of how our society has commodified feminism and continues to systemically shut out women of color-perfect for fans of White Fragility and Good and Mad"--
  • Join the important conversation about race, empowerment, and inclusion in the United States with this powerful new feminist classic and rousing call for change. Koa Beck, writer and former editor-in-chief of Jezebel, boldly examines the history of feminism, from the true mission of the suffragettes to the rise of corporate feminism with clear-eyed scrutiny and meticulous detail. She also examines overlooked communities--including Native American, Muslim, transgender, and more--and their difficult and ongoing struggles for social change
Storyline
Tone
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10940246
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Beck, Koa
Dewey number
305.42
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Feminism
  • Women, White
  • Minority women
  • Race relations
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
from the suffragettes to influencers and who they leave behind
Label
White feminism : from the suffragettes to influencers and who they leave behind, Koa Beck
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [245] - 290) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part I: The history of white feminism -- The making of a "Feminist" -- Who gets to be a feminist? -- Separate but unequal: how "Feminism" officially became white -- Thinking as a collective -- Labor laws aim to help all genders -- The emergence of self -- The perennial shifting around of domestic work -- Leaning in vs. leaning on -- How heterosexism kept women in their place -- The future isn't female; it's gender fluid -- Part II: White feminism: when the movement went corporate -- When white feminism got "branded" -- The trouble with capitalism -- Muslim money and dyke poverty -- Performing feminism at a desk -- What the privilege disclaimer doesn't accomplish -- Part III: The winds of change -- A new era of feminism -- The first pillar of change: stop acknowledging privilege; fight for visibility instead -- The second pillar of change: fighting the systems that hold marginalized genders back -- The third pillar of change: hold women accountable for abuse -- Our collective future is in the way we view one another -- What we can change now
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
xx, 299 pages
Isbn
9781982134419
Isbn Type
(hb)
Lccn
2020031312
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1162388991
  • on1162388991
  • OCoLC
Label
White feminism : from the suffragettes to influencers and who they leave behind, Koa Beck
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [245] - 290) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part I: The history of white feminism -- The making of a "Feminist" -- Who gets to be a feminist? -- Separate but unequal: how "Feminism" officially became white -- Thinking as a collective -- Labor laws aim to help all genders -- The emergence of self -- The perennial shifting around of domestic work -- Leaning in vs. leaning on -- How heterosexism kept women in their place -- The future isn't female; it's gender fluid -- Part II: White feminism: when the movement went corporate -- When white feminism got "branded" -- The trouble with capitalism -- Muslim money and dyke poverty -- Performing feminism at a desk -- What the privilege disclaimer doesn't accomplish -- Part III: The winds of change -- A new era of feminism -- The first pillar of change: stop acknowledging privilege; fight for visibility instead -- The second pillar of change: fighting the systems that hold marginalized genders back -- The third pillar of change: hold women accountable for abuse -- Our collective future is in the way we view one another -- What we can change now
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
xx, 299 pages
Isbn
9781982134419
Isbn Type
(hb)
Lccn
2020031312
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1162388991
  • on1162388991
  • OCoLC

Library Locations

    • Bluebonnet Regional Branch LibraryBorrow it
      9200 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA, 70810, US
      30.365310 -91.105254
Processing Feedback ...